But it’s such a long flight!

Australia.  It’s probably on your bucket list (if it’s not, it should be).  Australia introduced me to the amazing world of travel.  It has everything a backpacker would want: decent hostels, amazing beaches, rainforests, deserts, friendly people, part-time work to earn some extra cash, and the chance to meet travellers from around the world.  Fresh out of university, it was my first big trip.  It was somewhere I had always wanted to go.  I had a friend living there, going to school, so I had the perfect excuse.

When I told people I was going to Australia they said “Cool!  I could never do that flight.”  I never thought twice about the flight.  Sure, it was close to 20 hours of travel time, and a 15 hour time change, but I was going to AUSTRALIA!  Nothing was going to stop me from this experience.  Don’t let it stop you!
My tips for surviving a long flight:  Opera House
  1. If you are new to the wonderful world of travel, make your first big trip a long flight.  That way you can set a standard for what you can handle.  Every flight I have taken since is much easier after flying to Australia!
  2. Sleep on the plane – it is my secret to avoiding jet lag.  You are forced to sleep for at least a portion of the long flight to Australia, which I think has contributed to my inability to stay awake on every subsequent flight I have been on.  Though I am never sound asleep, I do get my rest, which helps me stay awake at my destination and quickly adjust to the time change.
  3. But don’t sleep the entire flight.  Make sure you eat something and drink lots of fluids or you will not feel well by the time you get to your destination.  Bring your own drinks.  They do not give you enough on the plane.  Airplane food is gross, and one day I hope to find a way to avoid it completely, but until them, I will survive on whatever gets put on the tray in front of me.
  4. Get up and walk around.  You will get restless on a long flight.  I try to get up every 2-3 hours (yes, even from a window seat!).  This also helps your circulation and prevents your legs from getting sore.

When you arrive at your destination, STAY AWAKE until a decent bed time in your new time zone.  If I stay awake on my first day and have a good night’s sleep, I am all set.  I have seen apps out there that help enable you to adjust your exposure to daylight over time to deal with a new time zone, but I don’t think that is necessary.  I am  good as new once I make it through the first night.

I never thought I would have another chance to visit Australia, but I have now been there three times and hope to go back again.  Don’t use the flight as an excuse to miss out on what Australia (or any other country) has to offer.
One thought on “But it’s such a long flight!

  1. Moritz says:

    Great tips. It’s all about adjusting your sleep to the time zone of your arrival. If you get to sleep in the plane at the right time, you can easily avoid jet lag. Great tips btw! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

